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South Carolina 
Commission on Higher Education 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

October 22, 2007 
 
 
 
MEMORANDUM 
 
 TO:  Directors of Financial Aid, Directors of Admission and Provosts 
   State Scholarship Eligible Institutions  
 
 FROM: Dr. Karen Woodfaulk 
   Student Services Division  
 
 RE:    LIFE Scholarship Enhancement Eligibility     
  
 
Purpose: 

To advise institutions of the requirements for determining students’ eligibility for 
the LIFE Scholarship Enhancement.  

 
 
Eligibility Requirements: 

The General Assembly passed Act 115 creating the new LIFE Scholarship and 
Palmetto Fellows Scholarship Enhancements. With the LIFE Scholarship Enhancement, 
students majoring in an eligible math or science program may receive up to an additional 
$2,500 towards their cost of attendance (in addition to the $5,000 based LIFE Scholarship 
award) starting with their second year/sophomore year of college enrollment at an 
eligible public or independent four-year institution in South Carolina (based on initial 
date of college enrollment).   

 
To be awarded a LIFE Scholarship Enhancement, students must be enrolled full-

time with a declared major in an eligible math or science program.  In addition, students 
must meet all eligibility requirements (as stipulated by law and regulation) and be a 
recipient of the base LIFE Scholarship. Beginning with the Fall 2007 incoming freshman 
class and thereafter, all students must also earn at least fourteen credit hours of 
instruction in math and life and physical science courses with a minimum of six credit 
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hours in math and a minimum of six credit hours in life and physical science including 
one laboratory course by the end of the first year of enrollment in college (based on 
initial date of college enrollment) to receive a LIFE Scholarship Enhancement.   

 
Student Eligibility:  

To be eligible for a LIFE Scholarship Enhancement each academic year, students 
must meet all the following requirements:  
 

1.     Meet all of the eligibility requirements at the end of each academic year to 
receive a LIFE Scholarship as stipulated by state law and regulation and be a 
recipient of LIFE Scholarship funds at the time of LIFE Scholarship 
Enhancement disbursement; 

 
2.     Be enrolled as a full-time, degree-seeking student in a declared major of 

science or math in an eligible program that is approved and assigned a CIP 
code by the Commission on Higher Education at the time of disbursement of 
LIFE Scholarship Enhancement funds; 

 
3.      Be enrolled at an eligible public or independent four-year institution 

located in South Carolina; 
 

4. Be in the second, third or fourth year of full-time enrollment (based on 
initial date of college enrollment after high school graduation) at an eligible 
four-year public or independent institution in South Carolina.  Students 
enrolled full-time in an eligible, approved five-year degree program may also 
be eligible to receive a LIFE Scholarship Enhancement in their fifth year of 
college enrollment (based on initial date of college enrollment); and 

 
5. Earn a total of at least fourteen credit hours of instruction in math and life 

and physical science courses with a minimum of six hours in math and a 
minimum of six hours in life and physical science including one laboratory 
course by the end of the student’s first year/freshman year of enrollment in 
college (based on initial date of college enrollment). For purposes of meeting 
the required minimum level of instruction in math and life and physical 
science courses during a student's first year, Exempted Credit Hours, College 
Level Examination Program (CLEP), Dual Enrollment, Pass/Fail courses with 
a grade of “Pass” (only), International Baccalaureate (IB) courses and 
Advanced Placement (AP) courses in math and life and physical sciences 
taken in high school in which the student scored a three or more on the 
advanced placement test and received college credit may count toward the 
fulfillment of this minimum requirement.   

 
     Starting with the Fall 2007 freshman class and thereafter, students who do not meet 
the minimum fourteen credit hour course requirement by the end of their first year of 
college enrollment will not be eligible to receive a LIFE Scholarship Enhancement.  In 
addition, only those students who are currently enrolled at a four-year institution as a 
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sophomore, junior or senior for Fall 2007 are not required to meet the fourteen credit 
hour requirement to receive a LIFE Scholarship Enhancement (see LIFE Scholarship 
Regulation Section 62-1200.10). Instead, these students must meet the continued 
eligibility requirements of earning a minimum average of 30 credit hours and a minimum 
3.0 LIFE GPA as stipulated by law and regulation for the LIFE Scholarship by the end of 
each academic year, be a recipient of LIFE Scholarship funds, and be enrolled as a full-
time, degree-seeking student in a declared major of science or math in an eligible 
program that is approved and assigned a CIP code by the Commission on Higher 
Education at the time of disbursement of LIFE Scholarship Enhancement funds. For 
continued eligibility each academic year, all students must meet all of the requirements 
for the base LIFE Scholarship, be a LIFE Scholarship recipient, as well as be enrolled at 
an eligible four-year institution as a full-time, degree-seeking student in a declared major 
of science or math in an eligible program that is approved and assigned a CIP code by the 
Commission on Higher Education at the time of disbursement of LIFE Scholarship 
Enhancement funds.   
 

 
Terms of Eligibility:  

The maximum number of terms of eligibility for a LIFE Scholarship 
Enhancement is based a student’s sophomore year/second year of college enrollment 
(based on initial date of college enrollment), with the exception of the summer term 
immediately prior to the student’s initial college enrollment and up to one academic year 
of full-time enrollment in remedial or developmental coursework taken while enrolled at 
a two-year institution. Beginning with the sophomore year/second year of college 
enrollment, students may receive a LIFE Scholarship Enhancement for a maximum of six 
consecutive terms (i.e., three academic years) towards a first bachelor’s degree in an 
eligible program of study or towards a 3 plus 2 program, and eight consecutive terms 
(i.e., four academic years) towards an approved five-year bachelor’s degree program. In 
cases where students are enrolled in a program of study that is structured so as not to 
require a bachelor’s degree for acceptance into the program and leads to a graduate 
degree, which will be the students’ first academic degree awarded, such students must 
maintain their undergraduate status to be awarded the LIFE Scholarship for up to eight 
consecutive terms and the LIFE Scholarship Enhancement for up to six consecutive terms 
each year, with the exception of students majoring in the Master’s of Science in 
Physician Assistant Studies Program, the Master’s of Science in Cytology and 
Biosciences Program and the Doctor of Pharmacy Program at the University of South 
Carolina-Columbia and the Medical University of South Carolina. Students who have 
already been awarded their first bachelor’s degree or graduate degree are not 
eligible to be awarded a LIFE Scholarship or a LIFE Scholarship Enhancement.    

 
 
Questions  

If you have any questions, concerns or need clarification regarding this directive, 
please contact Dr. Tajuana Massie, LIFE Scholarship Manager, at (803) 737-2271 or Dr. 
Karen Woodfaulk, Director of Student Services, at (803) 737-2244.  
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Summary Table for LIFE Scholarship Enhancement Eligibility: 
 

IF: THEN: 
 Fall 2007 First-time Freshmen and All High School Students   
The student is enrolled as a first-time freshman 
at an eligible four-year institution in SC,  

the student must meet all of the following 
requirements to receive an Enhancement 
beginning in the second, third or fourth year of 
college enrollment: 
 

1. Earn a minimum 3.0 LIFE GPA and an 
average of 30 credit hours by the end 
of each academic year and be a LIFE 
Scholarship recipient; 

2. Earn 14 credit hours in math and 
science (six in math, six in science, and 
one lab course) by the end of the first 
academic year of college enrollment; 

3. Be enrolled full-time as a degree-
seeking student at an eligible four-year 
institution; and 

4. Declare a major in math or science in 
an eligible program that is approved 
and assigned a CIP code by CHE.  

The student is enrolled as a freshman at an 
eligible two-year institution in SC, 

the student must meet all of the following 
requirements to receive an Enhancement 
beginning in the second, third or fourth year of 
college enrollment: 
 

1. Earn a minimum 3.0 LIFE GPA and an 
average of 30 credit hours by the end 
of each academic year and be a LIFE 
Scholarship recipient; 

2. Earn 14 credit hours in math and 
science (six in math, six in science, and 
one lab course) by the end of the first 
academic year of college enrollment; 

3. Be enrolled full-time as a degree-
seeking student at an eligible four-year 
institution. (Students enrolled at two-
year institutions must transfer to an 
eligible four-year institution to receive 
an Enhancement.); and 

4. Declare a major in math or science in 
an eligible program that is approved 
and assigned a CIP code by CHE. 

 Current Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors (2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10 only) 
The student is currently enrolled as a 
sophomore, junior or senior at an eligible four-
year institution in SC,  

the student must meet all of the following 
requirements to receive an Enhancement in the 
second, third or fourth year of college 
enrollment: 



 5

 
1. Earn a minimum 3.0 LIFE GPA and an 

average of 30 credit hours by the end 
of each academic year and be a LIFE 
Scholarship recipient; 

2. Be enrolled full-time as a degree-
seeking student at an eligible four-year 
institution.  (If the student initially 
enrolled at a two-year institution, the 
student must transfer to an eligible 
four-year institution to receive an 
Enhancement.); and 

3. Declare a major in math or science in 
an eligible program that is approved 
and assigned a CIP code by CHE. 

IF: THEN: 
 First-Time Freshmen Mid-Year Enrollees 
The student is a first-time freshman who 
initially enrolls in college mid-year (i.e., spring 
term), 

the student must meet all of the following 
requirements to receive an Enhancement 
beginning the spring term of the second year of 
college enrollment (i.e., beginning the third 
consecutive term of full-time enrollment): 
 

1. Earn a minimum average of 15 
credit hours and a 3.0 LIFE GPA 
by the end of the current academic 
year (i.e., summer sessions) and be 
a recipient of the LIFE Scholarship 
the following academic year; 

2. Earn a minimum average of 30 
credit hours by the end of the fall 
term/second consecutive term of 
full-time enrollment;  

3. Earn 14 credit hours in math and 
science (six in math, six in science, 
and one lab course) by the end of 
the fall term/second consecutive 
term of full-time enrollment; 

4. Be enrolled full-time as a degree-
seeking student at an eligible four-
year institution.  (If the student 
initially enrolled at a two-year 
institution, the student must 
transfer to an eligible four-year 
institution to receive an 
Enhancement.);  

5. Declare a major in math or science 
in an eligible program that is 
approved and assigned a CIP code 
by CHE; and 
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6.    Be enrolled in the second, third or 
fourth year of college enrollment. 

IF: THEN: 
 Transfer Students 
The student is transferring from an out-of-state 
institution or from an in-state institution to an 
eligible public or independent four-year 
institution at the end of the academic year,    

the student must meet all of the following 
requirements to receive an Enhancement 
beginning the second, third or fourth year of 
college enrollment: 
 

1. Earn a minimum 3.0 LIFE GPA and an 
average of 30 credit hours by the end 
of each academic year and be a LIFE 
Scholarship recipient upon enrollment; 

2. Earn 14 credit hours in math and 
science (six in math, six in science, and 
one lab course) by the end of the first 
academic year of college enrollment; 

3. Be enrolled full-time as a degree-
seeking student at an eligible four-year 
institution  in SC; and 

4. Declare a major in math or science in 
an eligible program that is approved 
and assigned a CIP code by CHE.  

The student is transferring from an out-of-state 
institution or from an in-state institution to an 
eligible public or independent four-year 
institution mid-year, 

the student must meet all of the following 
requirements to receive an Enhancement 
beginning the spring term of the second year of 
college enrollment (i.e., beginning the third 
consecutive term of full-time enrollment): 
 

1. Earn a minimum average of 30 
credit hours and a 3.0 LIFE GPA 
by the end of each academic year 
and be a recipient of the LIFE 
Scholarship at the time of 
enrollment; 

2. Earn 14 credit hours in math and 
science (six in math, six in science, 
and one lab course) by the end of 
the first academic year of college 
enrollment; 

3. Be enrolled full-time as a degree-
seeking student at an eligible four-
year institution in SC;  

4. Declare a major in math or science 
in an eligible program that is 
approved and assigned a CIP code 
by CHE; and 

5. Be enrolled in the second, third or 
fourth year of college enrollment. 
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IF: THEN: 
 First-time Freshmen Classified as Sophomores by the Institution 
The student is enrolling in college at an eligible 
four-year institution for the first time after high 
school graduation with enough earned credit 
hours (e.g., AP, IB, dual enrollment, CLEP) to 
be classified by the institution as a sophomore, 
 
 
LIFE Scholarship Enhancement  
Regulation, Definition Section 62-1200.5: 
 
T. “Fourth year/ senior year” shall mean 
seventh or eighth semester of full-time, 
undergraduate coursework following high 
school graduation.   
 
MM.  “Second year/sophomore year” shall 
mean any student who is enrolled in his or her 
third or fourth semester of full-time, 
undergraduate coursework following high 
school graduation.   
 
OO.  “Third year/junior year” shall mean the 
fifth or sixth semester of full-time, 
undergraduate coursework following high 
school graduation.   

the student must meet all of the following 
requirements to receive an Enhancement 
beginning in the second, third or fourth year of 
college enrollment: 
 

1. Earn a minimum 3.0 LIFE GPA and an 
average of 30 credit hours by the end 
of each academic year and be a LIFE 
Scholarship recipient; 

2. Earn 14 credit hours in math and 
science (six in math, six in science, and 
one lab course) by the end of the first 
academic year of college enrollment; 

3. Be enrolled full-time as a degree-
seeking student at an eligible four-year 
institution; and 

4. Declare a major in math or science in 
an eligible program that is approved 
and assigned a CIP code by CHE. 

 
(Note:  Students can only receive up to six 
consecutive terms of eligibility for a LIFE 
Scholarship Enhancement beginning with 
their second, third or fourth year of college 
enrollment.) 

 


