Skip Navigation



              Teaching Universities Sector Committee
                    Minutes of the Meeting of 
                         December 2, 1996


Mr. Stephen Avery, Chairman             Ms. Lindy Smith, Coastal Carolina
Mr. Warren A. Darby
Mr. Stan Davis                     GUESTS PRESENT
Mr. Frank Gilbert
Mr. Tom Hallman                         Mr. Charles A. Brooks, Francis Marion
Dr. William C. Moran                    Ms. Susan Guinn, Lander
                                   Ms. Amanda Maghsoud, Winthrop
CHE STAFF PRESENT                  Mr. Gary McCombs, Coll. of Chas.
                                   Mr. J.P. McKee, Winthrop
Ms. Camille Brown                       Col. Spike Metts, The Citadel
Mr. Charles D. FitzSimons                    Dr. Earline Simms, S.C. State
Ms. Maggie Hicks
Mr. Nelson Lindsay
Ms. Lynn W. Metcalf
Mr. Fred R. Sheheen
Mr. John E. Smalls
Dr. C. Michael Smith

The seventh and final meeting of the Teaching Universities Sector Committee was called to order
by Mr. Avery at 9:30 a.m. on December 2, 1996.  The meeting was held in accordance with the
Freedom of Information Act.

Mr. Avery asked that Committee members review the minutes of the November 25 meeting.  Mr.
Hallman requested that separate statements carrying the same number of points be combined in
indicators 8C, 3A, and 3C. Mr. Hallman also noted that in indicator 3C, the benchmark for
institutions with a faculty ratio between .5 and 1 STD below the mean should be corrected to
read 2.3 points.  With these changes, it was moved (Moran), seconded (Hallman), and voted that
the minutes of the November 25 meeting be approved.

The Committee completed the benchmarks for the remaining 22 indicators.  The benchmarks
completed on November 25 and on December 2 are included in the Sector Committee's  Final
Report. [Final Report too large to include with this document] A summary of the final reports of
all sector committees will be placed on the Commission's WEB Site at a later date.

Mr. Avery thanked all of the members for the time and effort they had contributed to the work of
the Committee.   Dr. Moran thanked Mr. Avery for his guidance and good humor throughout the

Dr. Smith notified the Committee that the Sector Committee Chairmen would be presenting the
Sector Committee Reports at the Steering Committee meeting scheduled for 10:00 a.m. on
December 10, 1996.  He noted that the December 10 meeting will be an informational, question
and answer, meeting with no formal action planned by the Steering Committee.  The Steering
Committee will meet again on December 19 to act on the Sector Committee Reports.  The
Steering Committee will present its recommendations to the full Commission on Higher
Education at its regularly scheduled meeting on January 9, 1997.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 p.m.  

                              Respectfully submitted,

                              Lynn W. Metcalf