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The South Carolina laws 

and regulations 

governing massage 

therapy 

practitioners and 

schools offering massage 

therapy programs: 

 
 Massage/Bodywork Practice Act, Act 

No. 387, enacted by the 1996 General 
Assembly, South Carolina Code of 
Laws, 1976, as amended, Sections 10 
through 320, Chapter 30, Title 40. This 
law provides the parameters for the 
licensure of persons who practice 
massage/bodywork therapy under the 
authority of the Department of Labor, 
Licensing and Regulation (LLR). 

 
 Department of Labor, Licensing and 

Regulation, Regulations 100 through 
150 of Chapter 77, approved by the 
1998 General Assembly, include 
specific provisions to implement the 
Massage/Bodywork Practice Act.  
 

 Nonpublic Postsecondary Institution 
License Act, Act No. 497, enacted by 
the 1992 General Assembly, South 
Carolina Code of Laws, 1976, as 
amended, Sections 10 through140, 
Chapter 58, Title 59. 
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t59c058.p

hp This law provides the parameters for 
the licensure of institutions offering 
academic, occupation, business or other 
programs of study under the authority of 
the Commission on Higher Education 
(CHE). 
 

 CHE Regulations 1 through 28 of 
Chapter 62, 
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/coderegs/c062.

php  include specific provisions to 
implement the Nonpublic Postsecondary 
Institution License Act. 

For LLR to license a person as a 
massage/bodywork therapist, he or she 
must: 

(1) Be at least 18 years old and 
have received a high school diploma or 
GED, 

(2) Have completed a 500-hour 
course of supervised study at an approved 
school, and 
 (3) Have received a passing grade 
on an approved examination. 
 
Note: Students who complete any portion of 
their massage therapy training via distance 
learning are not eligible for SC licensure. 
 

The Massage/Bodywork Practice Act also 
includes circumstances of misconduct under 
which LLR denies initial licensure, for 
example, a person who has been convicted 
of or has pled guilty to or nolo contendere to 
a felony or crime that directly relates to the 
practice or ability to practice massage/body. 
See Section 40-30-230 of the Act for other 
actions that are “misconduct.” 

 

Evaluating a school 

Definitions:  

 Licensed. Licensure is typically a 
mandatory (imposed by law) 
governmental process. A school licensed 
to operate in SC means that it has met 
the minimal standards (curriculum 
content, instructor requirements, 
facilities, equipment, record keeping, 
surety bond, financial resources, 
insurance) and provides accurate and 
useful information to students. 

 Accredited. Accreditation is a non-
governmental, voluntary, peer evaluation 
process. To become accredited by an 
appropriately recognized accrediting 
agency, institutions and programs must 

show that they meet certain standards 
established by the accrediting agency. 
Accrediting agencies should not be 
confused with membership associations. 
Accreditation does not provide automatic 
transfer of credit earned at another 
institution, nor does it give assurance of 
acceptance by employers. CHE does not 
accredit institutions; it licenses 
institutions that meet the standards 
prescribed by statute and regulation. 

“Institutional” accrediting 
agencies establish standards for the 
entire institution. 

“Program” or “specialized” 
accrediting agencies establish standards 
that apply to programs, departments, or 
schools for specific fields of study. 

 Recognized. The US Department of 
Education (USEd) reviews and 
recognizes accrediting agencies. 
Accreditation by a USEd recognized 
accrediting agency is one criterion for 
institutional eligibility for Federal Title IV 
(student financial aid) funds. Accredited 
schools may or may not be eligible to 
participate in student financial aid 
programs. USEd list of accredited 
schools and approved agencies: 
http://www.ed.gov/admins/finaid/accred/index.
html 

 Certified. Certification usually refers to a 
voluntary process and is granted by 
professional organizations that 
administer tests developed in 
consultation with authorities in the field. 
The terms “certified/certification” and 
“certificate” are not interchangeable.  
Providers of training issue certificates of 
completion to show successful 
completion of a course of study.  

To become a licensed 

massage therapist 

http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t59c058.php
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t59c058.php
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/coderegs/c062.php
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/coderegs/c062.php
http://www.ed.gov/admins/finaid/accred/index.html
http://www.ed.gov/admins/finaid/accred/index.html


 

How to 

decide 
 Get a copy of the catalog from each 

school you are considering and read 
them carefully so that you know about 
each school‟s curriculum, policies, fees, 
and procedures. 

 All massage therapy programs CHE 
licenses in SC must teach a curriculum 
designed to prepare graduates to take a 
qualifying licensure exam. The 
curriculum at each school determines the 
exam(s) for which the school prepares 
students. Scope of practices prescribed 
by various jurisdictions may not allow 
some modalities. Each school is unique, 
so choose the one that best fits your 
needs. 

 Only primary health care professionals 
perform diagnosis and prescribe 
treatment. Longer programs teach the 
massage professional to work effectively 
with a physician, physical therapist, or 
other health care professional. 

 Visit all schools you are considering; talk 
to administrative personnel, students, 
and instructors.  Look at equipment and 
facilities to see if they are similar to what 
you expect to use on the job. 

 Visit a class or two.  See if the atmos-
phere is one in which you will be 
comfortable. Before you visit a class, 
check with the instructor or school. 

 Contact health care providers or licensed 
massage therapists about employment or 
self-employment prospects. 

 Inquire about drop-out-rates and 
graduation rates.  Ask for the pass rates 
on the licensure qualification exams for 
the graduates of the school. 

 

While you’re enrolled 

Students who perform massage as a part of 
their curriculum (whether on or off the school 
premises) must wear a nametag identifying 
themselves as students and naming the 
school that enrolls them.  Students may not 
receive compensation (including tips) and 
may not advertise (including business cards) 
until they are licensed.   

 

After you 

graduate 
 
Massage therapy school 
graduates cannot 

practice massage therapy for remuneration 
until they have received their licenses from 
LLR.   
 
The process for licensure is: 
 Meet all requirements for graduation  
 Send application for licensure exam with 

required documentation 
 Receive „eligibility‟ letter  
 Register to take exam with local test 

center (eligibility to test expires 90 days 
after notification) 

 Take and pass exam  
 Send application to LLR with required 

documentation 
 Receive License from LLR.  You may use 

the letters “LMT” after your name 
 Begin practice for remuneration 

 

Continuing Education  
LLR accepts continuing education hours from: 
 Schools operating in the State 
 NCBTMB approved providers 
 AMTA approved providers 
 Approved individuals (contact LLR) 

 

As a LMT… 
Read and thoroughly understand the laws 
governing your practice. LLR will give you a 
copy of the Massage Therapy Practice Act, 
or you can access a copy of the Act online: 
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t40c030.php  
and the regulations at 
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/coderegs/c077.php  
Clarification of the Act can be found at 
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/MassageTherapy/i
ndex.asp?file=interpretations_of_the_massage_p
.htm 
 
1) Your first license is issued for one year or 
a portion of a year (depending on when you 
apply) and will expire in June.  Subsequent 
licenses will be issued for two years.  You 
will not be required to submit proof of 
continuing education to renew if your license 
was issued for a portion of a year.  Check 
with LLR for your particular situation.  The 
State requires that you obtain 12 hours of 
continuing education during each two-year 
licensing period in order to be eligible to 
renew your license for the next two years.     

 
2) Any advertising that you do 

(telephone book, business cards, 
newspapers, etc.) must reference your SC 
License number.   

 
3) Professional organizations offer 

various benefits to members.  Some offer 
group rate liability insurance (rates vary), 
national and state conventions, networking 
opportunities, advertising specials, and/or 
reduced costs for continuing education.  
Compare rates and benefits and choose 
according to your needs.  

 
4) Stay informed about any changes or 

decisions that will affect your profession. 
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CONTACTS: 

 

 

Massage therapist licensure, a copy of 
the law and regulations, or for an 

application for licensure: 

SC Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation; Office 
of Business and Related Services; P. O. Box 
11329; Columbia, SC  29211-1329 Phone:  
803.896.4494 Web site: 
www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/MassageTherapy/ 

School licensure or a list of schools 
licensed in SC 

SC Commission on Higher Education; 
Postsecondary Institution Licensing; 1122 Lady 
Street, Suite 300; Columbia, SC  29201; Phone:  
803.737.2260 Web site: 
http://www.che.sc.gov/CHE_Docs/AcademicAffair
s/License/List_licensed_MT_schls.pdf  

Examination 

Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards 
(FSMTB); 150 Fourth Avenue North, Suite 800; 
Nashville, TN 37219; P. O. Box 198689, 
Nashville, TN 37219-8689 Phone: 866.962.3926 

Web site: http://www.fsmtb.org 

Professional membership organizations 
American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) 
820 Davis Street, Suite 100; Evanston, IL  60201-
4444 Phone 847.864.0123 Web site: 
www.amtamassage.org  
 
Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals 
(ABMP); 1271 Sugarbush Drive, Evergreen, CO  
80439-9766 Phone 800.458-2267 Web site: 
www.abmp.com  
  
International Massage Association (IMA) 
25 South Fourth Street, P. O. Drawer 421, 
Warrenton, VA  20188 Phone 800.933.7113 
Web site: www.imagroup.com  

National Board Certification 
National Certification Board for Therapeutic 
Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB); 8201 
Greensboro Drive, Suite 300; McLean, VA  
22102  Phone:  703.610.9015 or 800.296.0664 
Web site: http://www.ncbtmb.com 
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